Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 27 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very Sturdy Gate
 from Middle Village, NY,  Aug 31, 2010

This gate is very sleek and sturdy. It took a bit of time to figure out how to put it up, but I'll admit my husband put one piece on upside down... After that it went much more smoothly. However, ours does not close automatically. It is very secure once closed and our nephew gave up trying to push it down (like the one from another brand in his house) after a few minutes. There is a strange latch on top. You must lift up both small sides and then left the entire gate. It takes 2 seconds and I was able to do it while holding my 6 month old without a problem. However once we get it leveled properly and it closes by itself, perhaps we will not need to lift the gate up. I would definitely recommend this gate because obviously if you aren't the handiest person in the world, and it's not perfectly aligned to close automatically, you can feel secure that the child is not getting through. Another hint...to learn from my hubby's mistake...make sure you really drill 6 inches from the floor. we thought this strange at first because it was obvious a child could squeeze under it (we used my nephew as a guinea pig). But once the door is attached PROPERLY, there is not enough room for a child to fit under. Don't make our mistake of drilling 3 inches above the ground only to then have to take it out and drill as directed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Gate
 from London, OH,  Jul 22, 2011

The gate is as described. I need it to separate my dogs in the hallway. They are unable to work the latch and the gate will not lift if they try to get under it. The package arrived without instructions, but Prince Charming was able to figure it out. I wish it came in left or right swing so it will open either way flat against the wall but we were able to customize it with a shim. It is the most functional, least ugly gate I have seen that fit my needs out of the box. Thank you.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice sturdy gate!
 from New Mexico,  Apr 6, 2011

After my husband installed this gate on our unusually steep flight of stairs, I couldn't have been more pleased! My 8 month old can now roam the hallway whenever she pleases. I also really appreciate the lock mechanism, it works great for my grandmother who has arthritis. I would buy this item again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This gate is great. Only negative I found was the latching system is not smooth.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great gate. Have to get used to the latch
 from Knoxville, TN,  Jan 7, 2011

I'm very happy with this gate. The latch is definitely different than any I've ever used. However, some of my family members have arthritis in their hands so this latch is nice because they don't have to squeeze anything to open it. If you have round banisters poles you'll need the banister attachment kits in order to install. There's no metal bar running across the bottom for my daughter to trip on which makes it a plus. For easiest opening make sure it's level.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Safe gate
 from MA,  Jan 3, 2011

We use the gate at the top of our stairs. My 3 year old has put all her weight on it and it is sturdy. Sometimes it's hard to open, takes a few extra seconds but it's not a big deal. I dont really like how you have to life it up a little to open it but then again it's something that a child probably wouldn't be able to do so I guess it's a safety feature. All in all it's a good gate and great for top of stairs.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stairway Special Child Gate
 from Oregon,  Sep 23, 2010

Gate was what as described. Hardware is a bit light. latch is more complicated then reported and gate has to be lifted up to latch ( gate dosen't swing and latch). Good gate in all.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sturdy gate
 from PA,  Sep 23, 2010

We installed this gate at the base of our stairs as a solution to keep our dogs from going up. It's all metal and seems to be made really well. As others have noted, the "locking latch" is a little tricky. I took the latch off because we do not need the babyproofing part and the gate has a pin and hole setup already in place. Overall a great purchase. Would definitely buy again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy Gate
 Jun 4, 2010

This is a high quality gate. We bought it for my son because the gates we had for my daughter were all plastic & broke within a few months. The Stairway Special Gate is all metal and has a sturdy locking mechanism. My 3yr old has a litte trouble opening the latch but the gate is sturdy and reliable. We bought this gate instead of other metal or wooden gates because there's no bar accross the bottom that could be a tripping hazard at the top of the stairs. I would recommend this gate.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Versatile Gate !
 from Rhode Island,  Mar 20, 2010

After searching local retail stores, and several returns for substandard quality and poor fit, I turned to Overstock.com, and I am glad I did. I needed a gate that would fit an angle at the top of my stairs, yet one that could be removable and not look like a fence when in use. This gate is simple to install (at almost any angle), and is made very well. It is adjustable, lightweight, yet very sturdy. Easy to open by adults, yet secure enouigh for curious toddler. And it is a clean modern look that does not scream "FENCE." This was my first order from Overstock.com, and I couldn't be more pleased, easy ordering, fast shipping, arrived undamaged, with easy instructions. Everything you could ask for. Thank You !

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Grand Prairie, TX,  Dec 2, 2009

We absolutely love this gate and wish we had bought two - one for top of the stairs and another for the bottom. I will admit the latch is a little tricky at first but once you get used to it - no problem. My husband installed it easily in less than 30 minutes. It functions well and blends just fine with our wrought iron stairway. Black is the way to go because it doesn't look tacky. We would recommend both this item and overstock to everyone. Reasonable price and fast shipping - probably 4 days at most. Thank you Overstock.com.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
jim
 Feb 10, 2015

Well made and simple to install. What more can you ask for.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kansas-Granny
 Feb 6, 2015

Perfect gate for the steps. Opens on either side.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good
 from Illinois,  Nov 7, 2013

This gate is VERY sturdy. We installed it at the top of the stairs. We have banisters so we just bought two pieces of oak and screwed it into the banisters, then mounted the gate onto the oak. Once you get use to unlocking the locking mechanism its great. And the grandson cannot get the gate unlocked and opened. He even stands on it. The gate does close and is secure without locking it, if need be. We usually keep it in that mode for the older kids.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Secure Gate!
 from Massachusetts,  Nov 15, 2012

While you must be willing to screw the mounts into your wood work, it is an extremely secure gate. It requires adept fingers to release the secure lock, which means toddlers cannot do it, but sometimes can also foil adults unfamiliar with how it works. My only complaint is that if the gate is opened and closed frequently, some of the fasteners tend to become loose. Perhaps lock-tite would remedy the problem.

  • How accurate was the sizing? As described.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The metal is very sturdy, and there were no sharp edges.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elopement/Fall prevention for Alzheimer's mom
 from Burbs in New Jersey,  Sep 23, 2012

Mom fell down the steps resulting a fracture. We installed this gate in upstairs hallway because of its sophisticated locking mechanism. It's a bit inconvenient for us to have to lift and open the gate every time we pass, but that's what it takes to not risking mom's pain & suffering. It's been a year since we installed the gate, the alignment is a little off but it still works well. Mom is "contained" and safe!

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect gate for homes with stairs
 from California,  Jul 13, 2012

Perfect gate for a home with steep stairs - 12 steps. White color goes well with any colored wall. Steel gate will hold up better than wood and easier to clean. We bought two gates, one for the bottom step and another for the top, works well for the safety of our granddaughter, as well as for our dog and cat.

  • How accurate was the sizing? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good for the price
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sturdy secure gate
 from Florence, Wisconsin,  Feb 28, 2012

I wanted to block access to a stairway and this product did the job

  • How accurate was the sizing? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great top of the stairs gate
 from Enfield, CT,  Feb 25, 2012

This gate is perfect for the top of our stairs in our raised ranch. Easy to install. It is a little difficult to open at first, but isn't that the point when you have a smart kid?!?!?

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Finally a great gate.
 from Southington, CT,  Feb 2, 2012

This is our 3rd gate since having our children. The first gate was alright, but that was only good for our first boy. (He's the calm one) The 2nd boy is a dare devil. He broke the first gate just by pulling and haging on it at the age of 8 months. This gate was made of plastic. The 2nd gate was a to diffecult to open with one hand so you had the put down everything just to open it. This gate is easy to open and made of metal. My kids now at the age of 3, 2, and and 8 months, They hang on the gate and try to open the gate and the gate is still like new. I just bought another one for the bottem of the stairs, since that gate just broke.

  • How accurate was the sizing? very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is great. Nice and strong
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 27 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought