Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 35 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very Sturdy Gate
 from Middle Village, NY,  Aug 31, 2010

This gate is very sleek and sturdy. It took a bit of time to figure out how to put it up, but I'll admit my husband put one piece on upside down... After that it went much more smoothly. However, ours does not close automatically. It is very secure once closed and our nephew gave up trying to push it down (like the one from another brand in his house) after a few minutes. There is a strange latch on top. You must lift up both small sides and then left the entire gate. It takes 2 seconds and I was able to do it while holding my 6 month old without a problem. However once we get it leveled properly and it closes by itself, perhaps we will not need to lift the gate up. I would definitely recommend this gate because obviously if you aren't the handiest person in the world, and it's not perfectly aligned to close automatically, you can feel secure that the child is not getting through. Another hint...to learn from my hubby's mistake...make sure you really drill 6 inches from the floor. we thought this strange at first because it was obvious a child could squeeze under it (we used my nephew as a guinea pig). But once the door is attached PROPERLY, there is not enough room for a child to fit under. Don't make our mistake of drilling 3 inches above the ground only to then have to take it out and drill as directed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Gate
 from London, OH,  Jul 22, 2011

The gate is as described. I need it to separate my dogs in the hallway. They are unable to work the latch and the gate will not lift if they try to get under it. The package arrived without instructions, but Prince Charming was able to figure it out. I wish it came in left or right swing so it will open either way flat against the wall but we were able to customize it with a shim. It is the most functional, least ugly gate I have seen that fit my needs out of the box. Thank you.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice sturdy gate!
 from New Mexico,  Apr 6, 2011

After my husband installed this gate on our unusually steep flight of stairs, I couldn't have been more pleased! My 8 month old can now roam the hallway whenever she pleases. I also really appreciate the lock mechanism, it works great for my grandmother who has arthritis. I would buy this item again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty much what I expected...
 Mar 30, 2011

This gate is great. Only negative I found was the latching system is not smooth.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great gate. Have to get used to the latch
 from Knoxville, TN,  Jan 7, 2011

I'm very happy with this gate. The latch is definitely different than any I've ever used. However, some of my family members have arthritis in their hands so this latch is nice because they don't have to squeeze anything to open it. If you have round banisters poles you'll need the banister attachment kits in order to install. There's no metal bar running across the bottom for my daughter to trip on which makes it a plus. For easiest opening make sure it's level.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Safe gate
 from MA,  Jan 3, 2011

We use the gate at the top of our stairs. My 3 year old has put all her weight on it and it is sturdy. Sometimes it's hard to open, takes a few extra seconds but it's not a big deal. I dont really like how you have to life it up a little to open it but then again it's something that a child probably wouldn't be able to do so I guess it's a safety feature. All in all it's a good gate and great for top of stairs.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stairway Special Child Gate
 from Oregon,  Sep 23, 2010

Gate was what as described. Hardware is a bit light. latch is more complicated then reported and gate has to be lifted up to latch ( gate dosen't swing and latch). Good gate in all.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sturdy gate
 from PA,  Sep 23, 2010

We installed this gate at the base of our stairs as a solution to keep our dogs from going up. It's all metal and seems to be made really well. As others have noted, the "locking latch" is a little tricky. I took the latch off because we do not need the babyproofing part and the gate has a pin and hole setup already in place. Overall a great purchase. Would definitely buy again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy Gate
 Jun 4, 2010

This is a high quality gate. We bought it for my son because the gates we had for my daughter were all plastic & broke within a few months. The Stairway Special Gate is all metal and has a sturdy locking mechanism. My 3yr old has a litte trouble opening the latch but the gate is sturdy and reliable. We bought this gate instead of other metal or wooden gates because there's no bar accross the bottom that could be a tripping hazard at the top of the stairs. I would recommend this gate.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Versatile Gate !
 from Rhode Island,  Mar 20, 2010

After searching local retail stores, and several returns for substandard quality and poor fit, I turned to Overstock.com, and I am glad I did. I needed a gate that would fit an angle at the top of my stairs, yet one that could be removable and not look like a fence when in use. This gate is simple to install (at almost any angle), and is made very well. It is adjustable, lightweight, yet very sturdy. Easy to open by adults, yet secure enouigh for curious toddler. And it is a clean modern look that does not scream "FENCE." This was my first order from Overstock.com, and I couldn't be more pleased, easy ordering, fast shipping, arrived undamaged, with easy instructions. Everything you could ask for. Thank You !

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from Grand Prairie, TX,  Dec 2, 2009

We absolutely love this gate and wish we had bought two - one for top of the stairs and another for the bottom. I will admit the latch is a little tricky at first but once you get used to it - no problem. My husband installed it easily in less than 30 minutes. It functions well and blends just fine with our wrought iron stairway. Black is the way to go because it doesn't look tacky. We would recommend both this item and overstock to everyone. Reasonable price and fast shipping - probably 4 days at most. Thank you Overstock.com.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mrs. C
 Jun 8, 2016

We have used this to keep our dogs out of our room and not have to shut doors . Love It !

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great gate poor presentation
 Jan 30, 2016

Arrived with a ripped open box, 2 bent rungs, and no directions. We looked up assembly and installation directions online and it was easy to do both. The gate functions well and is much sturdier than plastic gates for the top of our staircase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great gate!
 Dec 24, 2015

This gate is great! It's even adult proof. Most of my guests can't get in or out.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Child Gate
 Nov 21, 2015

Sorry I bought this. No one can open the lock. Rusted.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy Install + Great solution!
 Nov 20, 2015

Wonderful product! I have a landing that is not even it has solved my problem and is set at an angle. I have purchased two for the top of stairs and love the fact that this gate does not have a lower bar on the bottom (flushed to the floor) which is a trip hazard with other products which I have used in the past.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the BEST gate you can buy
 Nov 14, 2015

Cardinal Gates are just the best. Sturdy, easy open, yet secure enough to stay closed until you want it open...no matter how much jiggling is done to it. Has NOT been child tested here...only dogs and a pig.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what I needed!
 Jul 24, 2015

This works exactly as advertised. It is exactly what I needed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice size
 Apr 14, 2015

I don't like the little hooky lock on the side where you open.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
jim
 Feb 10, 2015

Well made and simple to install. What more can you ask for.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 35 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought