Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Gate for Stairs
 from Charlotte, NC,  Feb 1, 2013

This was the perfect gate for our staircase. I love that it is removable and that it is extra tall. My little one is almost 3 feet tall and this gate is perfect for his height. The only drawback is the inability to securely lock it against tenacious toddlers. The little one has already noticed the squeeze latch is what unlocks the gate and has been messing with it... sigh its only a matter of time. I am keeping it though because it keeps the dogs out and swings easily flat against the wall so it is not in the way. I might try to figure a way to lock it but for now the latch is holding. It is also very sturdy as my little one has done his best King Kong impression shaking the gate trying to get it to open. The wood color is very nice and looks like it is easy to paint. Installation was quick and easy, I had to saw off part of the bottom to get the gate to work but that is only due to our thick molding on the floor that did not allow for a flush mount on both sides. I am getting another one for the top of our stairs.

  • How accurate was the sizing? true to description
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does the job.
 from Phoenix, AZ,  May 26, 2012

These gates are a bit tricky to install - won't lie. However, once we figured it out - good to go! Our stairs are a bit wider then all of the 42' gates so we had to order this one. I wish it was colored white or tan and not just this nude wood color, but thats just me and wanting to match my entire house colors :) The gate is easy for adults to get in and out of. The gate is long enough to cover our stairs that are 44' across. I like the way these gate also retracts in while not in use. Overall good buy, our daughter is not old enough yet to start pulling on it - I am hoping with a name like Evenflo this gate will hold up to her pulling on it very soon. From my pulling on it - I think its going to do the job well. We have one at the bottom of the stairs and one at the top.

  • How accurate was the sizing? As promised
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

months later it is strong..I don't have to worry about it breaking!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just what we needed
 Apr 21, 2015

I had no problem installing it myself. I love that it can collapse and fold flat against the wall to be out of the way.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This gate is for installing on a wall or any other fix surface like a wood post of the stairs. The best thing about this gate it can go more than 300° it depends the place is mounted. The other good thing that I like is that does not have any bar that has to be in the floor (in which you can trip). Is super easy to mount (less than 10 minutes for my husband). and the lock mechanism is reliable. It comes with a complete hardware to mount secure in the top and bottom and that hold it in place very good.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

just as advertised,strong ...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worked well until....
 from San Jose, CA,  Dec 2, 2014

I looked at MANY gates before deciding on this one. It worked great. We only had a stud in the wall on one side to drill it into. As a result it fell out of the wall after about 9 months of use. Still...we got 9 months of use out of it. It worked just fine until that point. By that time our son was old enough to safely use the stairs so it served it's purpose.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simple and Sturdy
 from Chicago, IL,  Aug 8, 2014

We purchased two of these almost a year and a half ago. We have been using them daily without issue.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this for the dogs!
 from Chicago,  Mar 14, 2014

This is perfect for keeping my dogs contained when needed, and folds away when not needed. Can be painted if you want. And the taller height than most gates keeps my bigger dog from getting over it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great indoor gate
 from NJ,  Feb 26, 2014

Gate does what it says it does. Its held up for nearly a year now just fine and keeps our dogs out of the hallway leading to our bedrooms. We have 4 dogs and none of them challenge it anymore, one of them is a 14 month old Wolfhound pushing 150+ and still growing and he doesn't bother it. All our dogs are well trained though and don't exactly challenge it, if you have an animal that is going to attempt to break through this I'm not sure how long it would hold. I have no doubts that if our big hairy monster wanted through he is coming through. Still, for the price and fitment and how well its held up AND the fact that it locks/unlocks easily I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking to block off a hallway/stairway etc...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gate is perfect for a visual barrier
 from Satellite Beach, FL,  Jun 28, 2013

We purchased the gate for the front door as a pet gate. We have two large dogs and if they had a mind to, they could break through the gate, which means that if a child was determined, they could also, It is a very good visual barrier and will withstand some physical abuse.

  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality of product was fair. Would not be study enough for a very physically aggressive child or pet
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect for needs
 from Los Angeles,  Jun 9, 2013

Great for our needs - easy to use and high in height - def recommend

  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product
 from PA,  Jun 6, 2013

This is the third gate I bought. I could no longer purchase at a big box retailer so maybe they are discontinuing this model. We love this gate because it is very sturdy and expands to most sizes that we need. It bolts right into the studs in the wall and where we didn't have studs, I used the butterfly bolts to keep it strong. It kept our dogs out of a room we didn't want them in and now it keeps our child safe in other areas of the house. I highly recommend this.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Evenflo Top-of-Stair Extra Tall Child Gate
 from new york,  Mar 20, 2013

The gate was nice and tall so the kids couldn't try and climb over it. we purchased this gate for the basement stairs. The only downfall for us is that the gate is wider then we thought. we have standard door frames so when we installed the gate it only left about an inch or two to try and unlatch the gate so its a little tight.

  • How accurate was the sizing? ACCURATE
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good qualityf
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lives up to expectations
 from Busti, NY,  Feb 9, 2013

Had bought same gate in a shorter size several years ago, so I knew what I was expecting. The only thing that I was hesitant about was the color was listed as "blue", when in fact it was natural unfinished wood. Easy to install, the lower safety guide was extended further out than my previous gate, so it was actually easier to line up and close the gate. I am very pleased. I bought two and gave one to my son and daughter in law.

  • How accurate was the sizing? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice looking enough to be called: 'accent gates'
 from San Francisco, CA,  Feb 4, 2013

i call these my new wooden ""accent gates" since they are in all of my door ways to keep out incontinent cat and nervous dog- they enable me to keep the doors open and the animals dont feel abandoned or lonely. i was looking for wood gates since i knew they would be all over the house and i wanted something that looked like it would fit in to the wood that is already prominent in the apartment- and these are perfect. i love them! the slats are wide but not too wide to let my large maine coon and medium sized shepard through (though they both tried) installation was a breeze. i love these gates!

  • How accurate was the sizing? 100%
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. awesome! so easy to install- the wood is nice and light but functional- latches are great- and easy to use- keep the aniimals out of the rooms. i put them in 4 doors!
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes- although one gate seems to catch a little = warped.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to install.
 from Kansas,  Jan 26, 2013

Easy to install. Not like other gates, with ten thousand parts. Great design, simple but gets the job done.

  • How accurate was the sizing? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Looks and works great.
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Get it here!
 from Denver, CO,  Dec 19, 2012

I have had 3 of these already in the past 10 years - replacing them only because my foster dogs liked to chew them, making them look bad, they held up though. This is a great and versitile baby (or dog in my case) gate that can be easily removed from the wall brackets.I bought my past ones at a chain hardware store and it cost $80 - this is an amazing price at O! The gate comes with an easy install kit and the wood can easily be painted or stained to match your decor. I never write reviews but this gate is so well priced here I couldn't resist. This is a far superior gate than those plastic ones that end up marking up your wall paint. Yes, it does involve a little installation but all you really need is a screw driver.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Accure
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great for price. Holds up well.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good hard mount gate
 from Albany, New York,  Dec 8, 2012

Have owned many of these over the years. Just needed to get a replacement. I use to contain my puppies (actually two large active dogs). Much more attractive than those metal gates. Works well. Would buy again.

  • How accurate was the sizing? Very
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • Was the product free of any manufacturer defects? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good gate, good price
 from UT,  Oct 2, 2012

This extra-tall gate keeps my Dobermans in the house; very convenient, easy to install and looks good, too.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good gate, easy to install and use. The gate I was replacing that my son broke slid a little more smoothly, but this one isOK.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 22 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought